Kill Zone Rules – a futuristic blast from the past

Nick Lund’s Kill Zone – well, to properly give it’s full title as ‘Future Warriors: Kill Zone‘ – were a nifty set of simple rules from Grenadier UK, that we used in many a multi-player game. It provided a robust, no-frills quick-play combat session where you added the chrome yourself. No imposed codex, no approved figure range – although the 28mm figures you could get (and still available today) suited perfectly. The system was so easy to work with, I used the basic framework to ‘mod’ them into other genres.

A short while back, on one of the rare weekend meet-ups I managed to make, one of the chaps decided to run a few skirmishes with them. I luckily remembered I had a few items archived in the back-ups, and printed some stuff off. It was so quick, to get back into the game-play, you were left wondering why it was we moved away from these rules. Granted, there was no fluff or detailed theme, so you had to construct that yourself, but that was never beyond my abilities, or indeed for some of the others. Perhaps we were swayed to try something else, now long forgotten about?

In an age where sometimes the more recent rules are over-produced with gorgeous ‘eye-candy’ photos and quite often, minimal amount of explanatory text or useful examples of play, the basic simplicity of the ‘Kill Zone’ content was a refreshing change. It’s probably my age – or impatience. Probably why I have enjoyed some of the recent Osprey Gaming releases, like ‘Dragon Rampant‘ and TMWWBK. Despite now being in a better domestic situation where the games I want to play can be set-up, left in situ, returned to when I want too, I still find I enjoy those games that require less set-up time and prep work. On that note, if I’m ever to return to large-scale Napoleonics, then I need to re-discover that old attraction of pre-game design and preparation.

So, Kill Zone was a fun nostalgic re-visit. I even re-discovered a VSF version of a Kill Zone QRS I one made up for Space:1889 when I got home. I’ve attached the PDF here in case anyone would appreciate seeing it.

1889killzone

Author: taggb

UK-based, gaming and writing, and generally aiming to get back to being more creative.

Leave a Reply

