5-day working week, 4-day weekend

That’s an arrangement I like. And it’s a weekend to go a-trundling to do battle (well, perhaps the odd skirmish or tussle).

The dining table is currently festooned with sallet, bevor, gauntlets, dagger, bastard sword, axe, gloves, longbow, arrows and other varied items of the panopoly-of-war. Aye – it’s a big dining table.

It may be only the second such weekend this year, and it’s apparently a small cosy event at a castle close to the old Marches, but it’s one I’ve been looking forward too. And My Beloved is venturing forth with me, which I’m really happy about. Medieval may be my favoured period, but I’m glad she’s coming along to see what it’s all about.

And as there’s destined to be time a-plenty between demonstrations, bouts and clashes, I thought to take a few period games as well. So packed away are my bags of bone and wooden counters, wooden dice and my crude leather mat for ‘Tables‘ (the medieval version of Backgammon) – similar, except you use 3 dice not 2, there’s no American Doubling Die from the 1920’s, and it’s generally a race game. And then there’s another smaller leather piece marked up for ‘Alquerque‘ – it has a similarity to Draughts, but it’s more complex. Have a peruse with the links below.

So hopes for easy travelling and fair weather, and a comfy relaxation, and ales by the fire while we catch up with what we’ve all been up to over the Winter. And I will get to twang off some arrows at some point – I need to invest the time in the longbow, as well as battle and clank away with the polearms. Above all else, I need to exercise this carcass of mine, so thankfully the Tuesday is already scheduled to be an extra day for the weekend.

I’m old, but I’m not daft.

Tables

Alquerque

Author: taggb

UK-based, gaming and writing, and generally aiming to get back to being more creative.

Leave a Reply

