Losing friends

Just a few days ago, a friend of mine passed away in his sleep. He’d been poorly for some time, but had fought it well, long after the initial suggestions from the original diagnosis. I’d not seen him face-to-face for a few years but had kept track via friends and social media. While it was no surprise to learn of his passing, it still left me a little saddened.

And as such, the loss of another friend puts ‘Life‘ into perspective, again. When I decided to relocate to the Borders, it was after I’d lost others in my life. Their deaths had spurred me on afterwards to look at what I had and what I wanted.

The loss of my father was one of the first, and that seemed to fittingly sever any interest in maintaining links I still had with London, where I was born. I lost a few more friends from the re-enactment scene and that made me consider taking up the medieval period as a ‘must-do‘ ambition I had not yet achieved. And then I lost a few work colleagues, tragically taken far too soon and leaving families behind, that made me realize my employer wasn’t an entity I wanted to remain with for the years to come.

So it is that I find myself not anticipating another change, as I’m living in amidst it right now. I have other new ambitions to look at after next week, when I finally leave my employer, and escape the Civil Circus. But it does provide me the nudge to still consider what else should I do. What else could I achieve? Is there something I would find that gives me a new horizon to strive for? I’m not sure yet, so I’ll list up some ideas, review them and see what’s practical and proper.

Rest in peace, old friend. Slainte.

 

 

Author: taggb

UK-based, gaming and writing, and generally aiming to get back to being more creative.

Leave a Reply

